Saturday, May 11, 2024

Lindenbaum Results 2023/2024

I am pleased to announce that the winner of the 2023/2024 Lindenbaum Prize for short gamebook fiction is Andrew Wright with Are you the Hero?

Merit awards go to Heart of Keros by David Donachie, A Slope of Pines by Per Jorner  and What Lies Beyond the Standing Stone by Jeremy Johnson.

I would like to thank everybody who participated, the authors and those dedicated readers who took the time to evaluate all the entries, and also a further thanks to those readers who provided feedback and comment to the authors.

If you intend to write feedback in a public place, please email me the address and I will link to it.

You can find the entries here: Lloyd of Gamebooks: Voting is closed for the indenbaum competition

It is no small thing to as entrants to write original gamebooks. To write a gamebook (even one that must be limited to 100 sections) requires considerable time and creative effort. It is the type of writing project that can take months to accomplish and I appreciate greatly the work done by all the authors who entered this year's competition.

Many thanks for helping make this year's competition such an excellent competition with a wide variety of gamebook genres and styles. This was the second year I ran the competition and you continued to help me make it as brilliant as it was.

I would also like to extend thanks to Peter Agapov who sponsored the competition, Tammy Badowski who donated her time and talent to the competition and Crumbly Head Games who has donated free subscriptions to GBAT for the top 3 entrants.

I would also like to thank the judges - Peter Agapov, Andrew Greene, Keith P. Phillips, Ashton Saylor, Paul Gresty and Hieronymous J. Doom for all of the time and effort they have put in to read the entries and write feedback for them.

I feel very lucky to have so many people make this competition wonderful.

Looking forward to next year!


  1. Thanks for running this competition Stuart Lloyd, really enjoyed getting an entry in, and can't believe I won! 🙂 Thanks also to Tammy Badowski and all the judges (Peter Agapov, Andrew Greene, Keith P. Phillips, Ashton Saylor, Paul Gresty and Hieronymous J. Doom) and the other amazing entrants, especially the Merit Award winners Per Jorner, David Donachie and Jeremy Johnson. Good times! 🙂 Now, already started working on my entry for next year...

  2. Congratulations to the winners, and big thanks for everyone who entered, voted, or otherwise took part in this year's contest.